Baran was a part of Kota district till 1991. On April 10, 1991, it was declared to be a separate district. The district got its name from the existing Baran city which is also presently the district headquarters.

Baran district comes under Jhalawar-Baran parliamentary constituency and is further divided into four assembly constituencies – Anta, Baran-Atru, Kishanganj and Chhabra. Eight Tehsils fall under this district namely Anta, Baran, Atru, Chhabra, Mangrol, Kishanganj, Shahabad and Chhipabarod. It is spread across 6992 sq km area but only 82.18 sq km of it is urban. Rest of the district comes under the rural category.

As per Census 2001, Baran’s total population was calculated to be 10, 21,653. The district has a vast scope of development for agro-based industries.